I live tweet my lecture notes, as class happens.

How it’s useful

I find it useful in three main ways.

It forces me to be more attentive and critically engaged in class. Tweeting is a short and summary form, so to livetweet a lecture, you need to summarise, sift and sort as you go.

I benefit from the insights of others. When others livetweet the same class, and we share a hashtag, I get to see their insights, choices, assessments, and the resources they share.

I’m forced to revisit mateial. if I want to save my notes, I need to curate them. Quickly. It can be difficult to find tweets after anything more than a week. Research shows that we are much more likely to remember our ;ectures if we revisit mateiral within 24 hours. Curating my tweets involves active engagement. I sift, select, deselect, and, because of the nature of tweets/

With a pen and an A4 pad, I may not ever open the page after I’ve written it.

Twitter allows your students to take notes, and share them, immediately. It gives you an ijnsoght into who is taking notes, and what they are saying, which, we know is key to their learning. You get to see the note-taking conversation unfold as it happens, and see inside the brains of your students and they share their conceptualisation process.

Who is taking good notes, what questions are people asking, and how good are those questions. Who is retweeting what. And, it being twitter, there is always the real possibilitity that expewrts, authors, or masybe even the person you are studying will get involved in the conversation.

There’s a great post on scie-ed that documents the process

“The results were instantaneous — it was like being plugged into every student’s brain at once. You could see who was participating, who was getting the main ideas, who was extrapolating and asking good questions, and more importantly, the students could see what their peers were thinking”

“This was something that really helped, when someone tweeted a fact and half the class also tweeted the same fact it reinforced the students that they were on the right track. I would also tweet along with them to help them see if they were on the right page. The beauty of all this was that it was all uninterrupted documentary watching. No stopping and starting, no asking what was just said, it just flowed.”

http://blogs.plos.org/scied/2013/09/09/guest-post-creating-scientists-140-characters/

How to do it.

Agree on a hashtag. It should probably be different to the class hahstag, which you will want to keep for particular purposes. Livetweeting lectures can generate hundreds of tweets. Check the hashtag is not in use.

Spread the hashtag to the people who will use it.

To encourage livetweeting, monitor the hashtag in class, responding to questions, and monitor it out of class – feedback on tweets after the lecture will help add value and boost stident participation.

Use a good curation service. I use storify for this because it can be embedded in blogs, it’s easy to use, it allows crossposting from multiple sources, you can add comments – essential for in depth curation – and people will be informed if you quote them in your storify – a good boost for participation. But mainly I use it because it requires me to sift, sort and select, so my revisiting of notes is active, not passive. I select, I comment and summarise, I add in additional resources, and comment on other peoples links.

